Life as we know it

Our family adventures

What a week!

1 Comment

Whew! I’m glad the week is over. We had lots of fun with Allie’s birthday, Halloween and a visit from Grandma and Grandpa Durso, but Mama and Dada and I think Allie too really appreciated being able to just sit today!

Well, Mama didn’t get to sit all day. I did the grocery shopping this morning and then in the afternoon headed to my friend Chelsea’s baby shower. It was put on by one of her friends and it was so cute and fun! Chelsea is also having a boy, and due 10 weeks before me on Dec. 21. So Peyton and her little boy should be instant playmates!

Allie’s really short of sleep after two days of no nap, going to bed at 9 and waking up at 6:30. So she at least didn’t wake up at 5:30 with the time change! But she woke up at 6:30 and only napped two hours today. So she’s still pretty short on sleep. She liked staying home in her jammies today. They were new jammies that Grandma and Grandpa Durso gave her.

She also has this really awesome Hello Kitty skirt that Grandma and Grandpa Durso gave her. She woke up and asked about it this morning! She’ll be wearing that tomorrow for sure!

Just look at the mess she made with her birthday presents last night! She got a lot of neat new toys and clothes that she loves. She had fun though. We had a great time with Grandma and Grandpa Durso, but it was way too short! We saw them on Friday night and all day yesterday. They got up and left really early this morning. But we’ll see them again for Christmas.

A highlight for Allie was swimming at Grandma and Grandpa’s hotel.

Allie loves swimming so much and doesn’t get to swim nearly enough. We tried to sign her up for swimming lessons this fall, but ended up on a waiting list and didn’t get in. Hopefully in the next session!

Its been a tough week too for New York. I’ve read every day and looked at pictures of the devastation in New York and New Jersey and the other places affected. I know a lot of people who live in that region. They made it through the storm with various difficulties. I was for holding the New York City Marathon. But I understand why it was canceled… I just think it should have been canceled from the beginning! I couldn’t imagine if I’d spent all the time and money to get there just to find out it was canceled. But I’ve heard stories of runners without a race helping out instead.

The other current event I’m commenting on is the election or, more specifically, President Obama’s visit to Madison tomorrow. He’s speaking about two blocks away from my office. And Bruce Springsteen will be with him. I know many people are excited about it, but it just annoys me in the inconvenience. His last visit didn’t really disrupt our day too much partly because Allie was home sick that day. Tomorrow I’m taking the bus to work because even though the streets near my office are open, I can’t imagine what the traffic is going to be like. I’m taking the bus… an early bus and I still expect to be late to work because it says everywhere on the Madison Metro web site to expect delays. I found the map of the bus detour but I’m not even sure where I’ll have to get off the bus!

Part of me would kind of like to go to the event. But we have to go on our own time, and I need to save up all the leave I can.

I don’t work in an office right by where the president will be speaking and I’m glad. All state workers got an email late Friday afternoon with some information about the event, including instructions for people who work in the buildings right next to the area of the rally. In red print the email said of those buildings… blinds must remain shut and you cannot look out the windows… for your safety. Yikes! Maybe I’ll be adventurous and just see how close I can get to the Capital square when I get off the bus tomorrow. I wonder if I actually get to work early if I could run to Starbucks and grab a latte? Something tells me that might be difficult.

More birthday and Halloween pictures and posts coming this week!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “What a week!

  1. Thanks for posting that picture. It turned out really cute! I’m going to do a post once I see the other ones Amanda took. Hope you don’t have too much trouble getting into and out of work today. Thankfully it’ll all be over after tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

