Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Something I haven’t done in awhile

Leave a comment

This morning I ran for the first time in five days. How did I go five days without running? I don’t even take that much time off after a big race (I took four days off after the Haunted Hustle). Well, we had our darling Allie’s birthday partly to blame for that… but maybe I just needed a break. Whatever, its d0ne.

That’s not what the title of this post refers to though. This morning I headed to the treadmill because in spite of the time change, its still dark at 5:30 a.m. and its also routinely below freezing at 5:30 a.m. now, not to mention I appreciate a close proximity to bathrooms these days.

No, what I did this morning that I haven’t done in awhile is run for 35 minutes without stopping! When I started running it actually felt like it would be a really hard one, I had round ligament pain right at the beginning and had to take an early walk break. But I started on the second interval and was feeling good, though running extremely slow for me. But I felt good enough I decided to run 10 minutes instead of 9. Then I decided to go for 12 and 15 and 20… well, you get the idea. I ran just over 2.5 miles without stopping!

Maybe the treadmill isn’t so bad? I’ve never paced myself well, and that hasn’t changed since I’ve been pregnant. Maybe I can keep the treadmill slower and get back to running without taking walk breaks? I’m getting so slow now anyway, I think I’ll be switching to running for time, so if I can run the whole time I’ll get more of a total workout in.

Who knows, this might have just been an isolated incident. I have had more round ligament pain just in walking around the office today! But I feel good overall. Yay!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

