Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Our fancy car

Leave a comment

Look what we got!

This is our brand new 2012 Dodge Journey! Allie calls it our fancy car!

Its kind of funny how this story goes… Doug and I started talking yesterday morning about getting a loan to buy a car. We’d had some other plans for buying a car next year. But there’s some maintenance that we need to get done on my Altima and Doug really wanted to have a car before winter. With Peyton on the way we needed a bigger car as well as a second car. Not to mention new cars are so exciting and we didn’t want to wait until January!

So Doug started checking into it and before we knew it, we took off work a couple hours early and found ourselves at Russ Darrow Jeep RAM of Madison test driving this beauty!

We’ve got lots of bells and whistles… not all of them, but plenty! Among the highlights so far are heated front seats and SiriusXM radio with a free one-year subscription! We also have fancy touch screens, keyless entry and third-row seating. We were spellbound when the salesman was demonstrating the keyless entry. You don’t put a key in the ignition, you just press a button! We don’t actually have to press the button to unlock the door. If the key is within five feet, you put your hand inside the door handle and it automatically unlocks.

We got a good deal. One of the reason I was interested in Dodge was my dad. He worked for Chrysler. Since he died while he still worked there, we still get his green sheet discount. He loved cars. I remember going to dealerships on Sundays when they were closed and looking at cars on the lot. I didn’t get it at the time, but Doug, Allie and I did that a few times when we were researching cars. The green sheet combined with some other incentives got a nice chunk off the price.

Now I’m tributing my dad by naming my son after him and buying a car from his brand. While I don’t remember as much about my dad as I’d like, I do remember his enthusiasm for cars. I remember how excited he was before the Neons came out. I don’t think they came out before he died. If I remember, they kind of flopped. In fact, when I was looking to buy my first car, I looked into the Pontiac Sunfire I eventually got and a Dodge Neon. The Neon didn’t pass the Carfax test. I was looking to buy a Dodge back then but it didn’t happen, and I felt kind of bad about that. Now it has happened!

This is my third car and first brand new one! When we took ownership, it only had 157 miles on it! Compare that to my previous two cars… my 1996 Pontiac Sunfire started with 110,000 miles when I bought it in 2002 and my 2001 Nissan Altima had 68,000 miles when I bought it in 2004.

We’re still getting acquainted with our new car. We’re figuring out all the different lights. We got Allie’s car seat put in. We have to learn how to maneuver this bigger car as well as position it in the garage! We’re learning all the displays and the different gauges. We LOVE how smooth it drives! My Altima has been struggling on air conditioning and heating for awhile, the blower doesn’t work on level 1. And the radio/CD player has been struggling lately. We can’t wait to check out the Sirius radio!

Last night Doug and I were like kids at Christmas. We were so excited, we couldn’t sleep! This car is such an upgrade from the Altima! We’re making some sacrifices for this, but its totally worth it for our “fancy car!”

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

