Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Thanksgiving race curse

Leave a comment

Well, I thought the Berbee Derby was just a bad luck race for me. I’ve entered that race three times and only run it once. But apparently any Thanksgiving Day race is cursed. We were going to do the NorthPointe Health & Wellness Turkey Trot with the rest of my family today, but before we were out of Madison, poor Allie threw up in the car!

So we had to turn around and head home, and my second and final race of pregnancy was my third-ever DNS… did not start. My three DNS races have all been Thanksgiving!

The good news is the puke seems to have been a one-time incident. It seemed just like she just burped and it came up. Allie wanted to play when we got home, before I even cleaned her up! We hung out at home for a couple hours while we washed the car seat cover and kept an eye out for any sick symptoms. Allie still wanted to go to the race, but we had to explain to her that we missed it! She ended up being fine, we did get to head down to Rockton for Thanksgiving dinner and she ate a ton. And we had a fun time hanging out and goofing off as a family. I just hope Allie doesn’t end up really sick tomorrow!

After I was sure Allie was doing fine, I did get my own little turkey trot in… 3 miles in the unseasonably warm and quite windy outdoors, wearing my running for two shirt! I’m a little bigger than I was last time I wore this shirt six weeks ago! It was also a lot slower than I was running six weeks ago.

I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t get to race today. I’m also disappointed that I missed my little sister Jocelyn’s first 5K! There are a few other races the next few weeks that I suppose I could consider if I feel up to it. But I think my pregnancy races are done. Quite honestly, I feel like I’m winding down on the running, at least mileage-wise. I decided my goal after the turkey trot is to run through the end of the year. With five more weeks in the year, I’ll be about 31 weeks along. That may be a little ambitious, but we’ll see!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

