Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Happy birthday to me

Leave a comment

I had a great birthday yesterday! We’d considered having Allie stay the night somewhere, but I decided I’d rather have a family day. Doug and I took Friday off to have a birthday “date day.” We went to see Skyfall… I couldn’t tell you the last time we saw a movie in a theater. After that was lunch… Biaggi’s, my favorite! And we finished up with some Christmas shopping. Then Saturday we had big plans, and Mama got a few surprises too!

The first surprise was that Allie slept in, so Mama slept in too, until 7:45! When I got downstairs I found that Dada had cleaned the kitchen and gone out to get Dunkin’ Donuts for breakfast! That was yummy. Allie enjoyed her “sparkly doughnut,” a star-shaped custard-filled doughnut with green frosting and star spinkles. I had the other one and I agreed with her it was good. We had enough doughnuts to save some for breakfast this morning too!


After that was the feature event, the Olbrich Holiday Express. Allie got a little cranky while we were there, but she still enjoyed seeing the choo choo trains and also the flowers and birdies in the conservatory.

The afternoon held a failed attempt at a nap for Allie. I fear she’s trying to give them up! We made two kinds of cookies, snickerdoodles and peanut butter blossoms. I wanted to make three kinds, but decided to stop at two. It was time to go out to birthday dinner. I’ve realized that if we want to go out to eat anywhere on a Friday or Saturday night, we either need to go at 4 p.m. or make a reservation. I didn’t decide where I wanted to go until right before we left… but still thought getting there at 5:30 we’d be able to get a table! We would have… if we’d wanted to wait up to an hour! I guess thats the hazard of having a birthday during the holiday season. We tried two places and then  ended up at Culver’s, which was probably a good thing as Allie gets hyper active when she doesn’t take a nap. It was OK, I’ve never gotten sick of Culver’s food. And I very much enjoyed my turtle sundae for dessert! Then after that we wanted to go see the Holiday Fantasy in Lights, but the line to get in was WAY too long… the theme of the evening, I guess. We’ll go see that another night.

All in all, Mama had a great birthday. Allie gave me a gift card for my favorite spa! She was so excited, she gave it to me in the morning after my shower. But she wanted to open the card! She loves opening the cards that come in the mail. She started it and then I finished because she couldn’t get it open. Then Mama took the giftcard and the other card was hers. I haven’t gotten Dada’s present yet… he ordered it online and had to send it back because they sent the wrong one and the right one still hasn’t arrived… I have a pretty good idea what it is, but will have to wait a bit longer to see if I’m right!

It was such a great birthday, and I was so glad to spend it with my whole family! Allie got all dressed up and made it so much fun… even without a nap! Now tomorrow its back to work and also time to get to work on the rest of the Christmas shopping. We’re traveling in less than two weeks! Why does time keep going so fast?

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

