Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Home

Leave a comment

Its nice to spend the holidays with family, but its also nice to be home.

We enjoyed our trip, but I think we were all ready to get home on Tuesday night. Wednesday we took the day off work, and it was much-needed! Allie slept until 9:30! Then she later took her first nap in a week in the afternoon. She slept for three hours… we had to wake her up at 5 in order to get her to bed at a decent hour (it didn’t work though, I guess she was still in vacation mode… put her to bed just before 8 and she was awake until close to 8:45!).

It was a busy day for sure. There was a lot of stuff to unpack and put away, various food we acquired, presents and their associated garbage, laundry to do, groceries to buy, picking up the dog. I’m not sure how we would have managed if we hadn’t taken the day off work. But in a way it was also nice to go back to work this morning.

When Allie got up at 9:30, we got some doughnuts for breakfast and then went to the Christmas tree, where Santa had made a special visit on Christmas night instead of Christmas Eve since we weren’t home! Allie loves all her gifts from Santa. I’m not sure I could even determine which one is her favorite as she’s playing with everything equally. Its always nice when that happens! I will be posting some pictures eventually, I promise!

A highlight of Mama’s day was unpacking and putting away my new cookware! I picked it out in early November but didn’t get to keep it until Christmas. Its a really nice Cuisinart set to replace my old ancient cookware! Everything I had was old when my parents gave it to me when I moved into my first apartment in college, which was at least 10 years ago. It definitely got good use! I had to throw away most of the old stuff because it was in too bad condition to keep using, but I am donating some that is still in good shape.

I found odd enjoyment in reorganizing the cabinets to accomodate my new cookware. The inaugural meal was our mini Christmas dinner. I made some mashed potatoes in one of the new sauce pans.

Now we’re moving on to new years… I can’t believe that this year only has five days remaining! The new year is putting us a little closer to meeting Baby Peyton. Now that the holidays are over, we need to start getting ourselves ready for his arrival. It was crazy to me last week thinking I was so close to 30 weeks… now I’m crazy again that tomorrow is 31! The time is going by so quickly, I think each Friday is going to be even more surreal to me. I just hope the time doesn’t slow down too much now that the holidays are over, since I’m getting into the uncomfortable part of pregnancy.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

