Life as we know it

Our family adventures

34 weeks

Leave a comment

002
So if I felt humongous two weeks ago, I feel even moreso this week!

It might just be what I’m wearing in this picture that makes me look so big. Its been weird, I remember wearing this shirt much later in my last pregnancy without it being so short.

Anyway… 34 weeks. Things are so different right now than when I was pregnant with Allie. There’s so much to do that hasn’t even been started yet. And its harder to get things done when I’m working.

I had my 34-week doctor’s appointment on Thursday. My weight is now up a total of 44 pounds, which I’m not happy about, but I’m dealing with. My belly and Peyton’s heart beat are measuring perfectly. I also got a lovely DTaP booster. Apparently a very very new recommendation is that with the prevalence of whooping cough recently, for mothers to get a booster in pregnancy to pass on immunity to the baby since the baby can’t be immunized until two months. I didn’t feel the shot going in, but I still feel it now two days later! Hopefully that soreness will go away soon. Its hard to do everything I have to do with a sore arm, but at least I got it in my left.

So everything’s fine, except that Peyton is currently breech. I found this out two weeks ago. The word is he still has time to turn. I read a little bit yesterday about what I can do to try and make him turn, and it all seems very involved and a bit scary. Right now I’m of the thought that if I have to have a c-section because of him being breech, that would be OK compared to all the crazy things I could do to try and make him turn. Is that bad? There’s all these crazy exercises like laying upside down for 15 minutes four times a day… I certainly don’t have time for that! Apparently the manual turning they try at the doctor’s office is very painful. I suppose I’ll try some of the tricks… but probably won’t be too upset with a c-section either. Its funny that I have this attitude now because I remember crying when it looked like I might need a c-section to get Allie out.

But I’ve been a bit more laid back about everything this pregnancy. I suppose thats just the way it is with #2. And its kind of been how I have to see it just because things are so different this time. I already have a kid and I’m working. The focus of getting the house ready is finding space to move around all our junk and then move furniture to fit another little person in our cramped little house. That’s not nearly as fun as designing a nursery!

We have started a few tasks, and this weekend is a long weekend with the Martin Luther King Jr birthday holiday on Monday. We’ve gotten a pack ‘n’ play and a dresser. I finally started organizing the explosion of clothes in my bedroom (clothes of various sizes have been laying around since this summer… the stuff that was too small right away, stuff thats still too big, maternity stuff thats too small now… its crazy!). The only problem is I don’t have anywhere to put these clothes, hence the reason why they’re just laying around the bedroom.

This house didn’t feel so tiny when we bought it almost six years ago!

What I really need to do is take a bunch of stuff to Goodwill to make room in our tiny basement. But that takes more time than I’ve had so far to pack things up and then load them in the car. Hopefully this weekend!

Right now I’m up after my second bathroom wake-up of the night. My brain woke up and then I got hungry. The eating in the middle of the night thing hasn’t happened nearly as much so far. The other thing that hasn’t happened a lot is swelling, though I’m having more of it in my legs lately. I’m surprised I’m still wearing my wedding ring, but there are times when its feeling very snug. I’m sure I will have to stop wearing it at some point in the next few weeks.

There are a few other things happening in my body that I don’t remember from last time that are getting uncomfortable, but I won’t mention them here. Its annoying enough at times that I do start hoping Peyton comes early… but at the same time I don’t because we aren’t nearly ready for him yet!

My back is pretty much normal after my SI joint flare up of two weeks ago. I went to the gym three times this week! It really wore me out though. I’d like to get back to going four or five times a week, but I don’t know if that will happen. I get so tired just walking up the stairs in the house. And my legs really don’t like working out that much, at least they haven’t this week.  It got better as I went along though, so hopefully that will continue improving. My legs are pretty sore right now, as they have been each morning after a workout this week. My weight is now up 44 pounds, and I was hoping to top out at 40 this time. So now my goal is to control things enough to end up at 50… But I’m kind of at a point though now where I’m getting a little indifferent to that too.

We’ve got a busy but also fun weekend coming up and its just about 5 a.m. Saturday. I’ve been up for almost an hour now… hopefully I can go back to sleep for a couple more hours!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

