Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Nesting the second time around

Leave a comment

The chair and dresser are where the couch used to be. We'll eventually get rid of the chair, but for now we just switched the chair with the couch. This room will be rearranged further when we get Allie's toddler bed.

The chair and dresser are where the couch used to be. We’ll eventually get rid of the chair, but for now we just switched the chair with the couch. This room will be rearranged further when we get Allie’s toddler bed.

Allie's dresser turned out OK, but the way it was put together made it difficult to get all even. Its a good thing its a kid's dresser because it just isn't super great quality.

Allie’s dresser turned out OK, but the way it was put together made it difficult to get all even. Its a good thing its a kid’s dresser because it just isn’t super great quality.

We had to do the most rearranging here... the white dresser was where the couch now sits, the brown dresser was where the white one is and the old arm chair was where the brown dresser is. We actually really like this arrangement so far, except that the TV is down lower.

We had to do the most rearranging here… the white dresser was where the couch now sits, the brown dresser was where the white one is and the old arm chair was where the brown dresser is. We actually really like this arrangement so far, except that the TV is down lower.

The corner back by the closet is where Monk used to sleep, but is now where Peyton will sleep, at least until good sleeping patterns are established. Its a bit darker in that corner, which will be helpful. We still haven't settled on Monk's new sleeping space though.

The corner back by the closet is where Monk used to sleep, but is now where Peyton will sleep, at least until good sleeping patterns are established. Its a bit darker in that corner, which will be helpful. We still haven’t settled on Monk’s new sleeping space though.

We got so much done this weekend! I had been feeling anxious because I am getting closer to Peyton’s due date and I didn’t feel like had gotten enough done to feel comfortable.

Well, that’s all changed now! Here’s what we did…

I took a “sick” day on Thursday to start getting things done. The main thing I accomplished that day was get Allie’s dresser, minus the drawers, put together.

Saturday
-Started washing baby clothes
-Cleaned out closet and dresser, loaded up three trash bags full of stuff to donate to Goodwill
-Put away all clothes that were laying all over the room
-Cooked a real dinner for the first time in awhile… yes this is note worthy because I haven’t been doing this much lately and I was tired that day!

Sunday… this is where the fun happened
-Finished putting together Allie’s new dresser
-Moved furniture around upstairs to get the couch out of Allie’s room and into our room (this was a ton of work!)
-Vacuumed both bedrooms as we were moving things around, even moved some stuff that won’t be moved
-Made a birthday cake for Dada (from a mix, I probably couldn’t have made it from scratch with how tired I was!)
-Moved Allie’s clothes into her new dresser
-Put away the two loads of laundry I washed for Peyton

Doug and I were both so tired by the time we were done! I was working on something almost continuously for almost 12 hours yesterday. My body hurt and I felt like I was getting a break by going to work today. But this was well worth it! We got way more done this weekend than I expected.

I feel a lot better about where we are now! There aren’t too many things left that we need to do before Peyton could come home. Off the top of my head the most important items are to put the car seat in the car and set up the pack ‘n’ play in our bedroom, niether of which will take too much time. Other tasks are to finish organizing his clothes, get Allie’s toddler bed set up (we’re getting one from a friend at work) and get rid of more stuff to Goodwill to organize the closets and basement so we have some more storage space. The house didn’t seem this small when we bought it six years ago!

Nesting the second time around is just as satisfying, but not quite as much fun! Since we only have two bedrooms, I don’t get to design another nursery. But there have been fun parts, like putting Peyton’s clothes into his dresser. I really want to add some decorations to the room for Peyton. I want to paint letters of his name like I did for Allie and hopefully some other wall art. I put up a few things on the wall from when I was a baby and gave Allie a few blankets I had when I was a baby, so I feel kind of bad I don’t have anything else from when I was a baby to give Peyton! I’m glad at least that the room itself isn’t decorated too girly. The Goodnight Moon theme works just as well for a boy, I think.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

