Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Head down

Leave a comment

After being concerned the last few weeks that Peyton is in a breech presentation, we got it confirmed yesterday that he is now head down!

I will admit, a small part of me wanted to schedule a c-section just so I could plan for the big event. But I do know that going into labor and hopefully delivering naturally is the best for both of us.

My doctor used this tiny ultrasound thing that looked like an ipod. She said its really only good for this purpose, quick looks. It was so neat-looking though. Peyton is head down with his butt/legs up toward my right ribs, which explains why when I have trouble bending, its there! His arms are toward the left side.

At 36.5 weeks I’m barely dilated and 60% effaced (I don’t know, does a finger tip count as dilated?). So based on that I don’t think labor is starting anytime soon, but I know that really tells nothing about when labor will happen. Nothing does really!

What I do know is that Peyton’s head is nestled way deep in my pelvis. I’ve felt it almost all the time against my hips for probably the last couple days. He’s down really low, maybe almost as low as Allie dropped the week before I gave birth. Unlike that week before birth though, I feel like I could still go to the gym. I was still able to get work done in the house this weekend. But I get plenty winded too. My legs get weak just walking up the stairs in my house. Last night after baking a couple things I couldn’t catch my breath for the longest time. I know its partly because of the reappearance of the acid reflux, but I think the extra pounds and stress on my hips are taking their toll as well.

Speaking of extra pounds, I managed not to gain any since my last appointment! I did realize, however, that instead of the 44 pounds I was saying after my last appointment, I was really up 54. I drew this conclusion because I am sure I didn’t gain 10 pounds in the last two and a half weeks. So I guess I just gain weight when I have babies. I sure hope I don’t get to 65 total, but even if I do, I know how to lose it now. And I’m in way better shape than I was last time around and I also started out a few pounds lighter. Whatever. I’m going to have a baby in a few weeks!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

