Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Busy busy busy

Leave a comment

We’ve had a ton going on the past few days. I’ve been so busy, I haven’t had time to write or post any pictures.

Saturday we made an unexpected trip to Rockton to buy a new car! An old friend posted a car for sale last week that Doug and I jumped at. Its a 2004 Mazda 6 with 118,000 miles. This timing was perfect since my Nissan Altima died a couple weeks ago. Doug and I had been going back and forth on if we would buy another car or just continue doing the one-car family thing for awhile. We’d been really enjoying having two cars again when the Altima died, a lot sooner than we expected it to. We were definitely relieved that we got the new car when we did though! If we hadn’t, the Altima could have died a lot sooner and left us with no car.

After my friend posted their car, Doug and I decided we would be getting rid of the Altima either way, but pursued the new car. I talked back and forth with my friend over the course of the week and we’d pretty much decided we wanted to buy it unless there was a serious problem on the test drive. There wasn’t, so I am writing for the second time in three months that we bought a new car! I still haven’t managed to snap any pictures yet, but I will!

Today a tow truck came to take away the Altima. I’m kind of glad I wasn’t home for it. That was my car that I bought and paid off. And it was a good car. We really expected it to last a bit longer, though the list of issues suggested to fix every time we got an oil change was getting longer. The cost to get it repaired and for some other things it needed might have totaled what we paid for the new car, but how long would it have lasted? We just decided we didn’t want to put any more money into it.

So the new car took all of our Saturday. Then Sunday was a day of fun and a day of work. I got a bunch of things done in the house on Sunday. We cleaned some more in the basement, moved a bunch of Allie’s old clothes out of the bedroom closet down to the basement, finished Peyton’s laundry (though two days later, the last of it is still in the basket waiting to be put away), put together the pack ‘n’ play in our bedroom and installed the car seat.

I was exhausted by the end of the day, and sore. I got an amazing pregnancy massage on Saturday and the effects of it weren’t lingering by Sunday night. But I’m happy to say there is very little left to do to get ready for Baby Peyton’s arrival. All I can really think of at the moment is washing up the bottles, buying some new nipples for those bottles and a few other necessary items. Oh, and the hospital bag! Its so funny that I think I had a hospital bag in progress before 36 weeks with Allie, but at almost 38, I’m still just thinking about it. I really did think about it on Sunday, about packing Peyton’s diaper bag. Maybe I’ll try to do that tonight.

The most fun part of Sunday though, was taking Allie to Chuck E. Cheese. I can’t believe I say it was fun either, because it was busy! Between the normal weekend parties and the rainy afternoon, it wasn’t as empty as it was when we went for Allie’s birthday (on a weeknight). But it also wasn’t too bad. We managed to order our food before a huge crowd came in. And we could always find a game to play. And even if I hadn’t enjoyed it much, it was so great to see the delight on Allie’s face. We are trying to do more fun stuff for Allie before and hopefully after Peyton gets here.

Allie loved it. She really loved the games and it was so neat to see her concentration. She didn’t eat much though. I guess we should have expected that. Who wants to eat in a place like that when there’s so much fun to be had? I took a bunch of pictures that I finally took off the camera last night, but I still need to edit a bit before I can post them.

So with all the activity of the weekend, Monday was another day where I felt like coming to work was a break! I want Peyton to get here so we can slow down a bit. Not that we will necessarily slow down when he’s here, but at least we won’t be preparing for his arrival once he’s here! Soon I hope!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

