Life as we know it

Our family adventures

38 weeks

1 Comment

002
Yep, I’m ready to be done.

But it would be ideal if Peyton didn’t come this weekend because Grandma and Grandpa Swanson are going out of town and they’re going to help us with Allie when the time comes. And ideally, I need to work through next week, or at least the first part of the week.

But I’m ready to be done.

I’m thinking about putting a sign on my belly. It would read something like this:

-Due in two weeks
-Yes, I’m ready to be done
-This is my second child, its a boy
-No, I’m not going to share his name with you, a complete stranger
-My older child is a girl
-Yes, she is excited

I suppose I am lucky that I haven’t gotten these annoying questions more earlier, and also that I haven’t gotten too many stupid comments, though I have gotten some stupid comments. Such as the comment from a woman approximately double my size about my big baby… excuse me but my belly is measuring perfectly, thank you very much. Why do people say such stupid things to a pregnant woman?

Anyway, almost every time I left my desk today I got some kind of comment or question. One woman patted me on the back. I’m just really glad she didn’t pat my belly.

The to-do list is getting shorter. The top item on it is packing my hospital bag. Peyton’s bag is packed. I’m doing laundry tonight and tomorrow and then hopefully I’ll be able to get my bag packed with what can be packed right now. But there’s not much I can pack right now, so we’ll see how much of that gets done. At least I will write a list of what I need to put in the bag…

The other major item is some shopping for the last few things we need. Among them are some new bottles and some extra nursing items. I thought I’d brought the bottles upstairs last weekend. I did… but discovered I found the wrong ones. I brought the ones that were packed away first because we didn’t like them. I have no idea where the good bottles ended up and have no energy or desire to go through all the boxes in the basement again. I did that a couple weeks ago and surely would have found them at that time if they were down there.

Ahh, braxton hicks contractions. I’m having plenty of them… with a few real ones mixed in. Nothing is happening lately that makes me think labor is imminent though. At my doctors appointment yesterday I found out I’m making progress toward having this baby, but that internal exam really means nothing about when I’ll go into labor. It just tells me the work that my body won’t have to do since its already done, once the time comes.

Anyway, energy comes and goes. I was miserable on Tuesday night with reflux and digestive issues. But I felt pretty good Wednesday night and all day Thursday. I’m tired though. I went to bed at 8 p.m. Thursday night, and it was great! My body just doesn’t want to move anymore. And I’m hot… all the time, and not in a good way. I understand how frustrated Doug gets because he’s always hot and I’m usually always cold, and my temperature usually wins. But right now I’m overheating and I think sometimes Doug is even cold compared to how hot I feel! This makes me wonder if the delivery room will be even hotter this time than it was with Allie. It was about a million degrees when I gave birth to Allie and we had an industrial fan in the room!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “38 weeks

  1. Ugh. Makes me glad I delivered at 38.5 weeks. The totally inappropriate question I got several times was, “Was the baby planned?” Who asks that in casual conversation??? Don’t hesitate to call if you go into labor soon and need help with Allie, Monk or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

