Life as we know it

Our family adventures

One week old!

1 Comment

005
How has it already been a week? Well, by now its been eight days. I can’t believe how fast time is going. I meant to post this when he was just a week.

009
Peyton is great. We’re in love. He’s eating well and sleeping well. Breast feeding is going way way better this time than it did with Allie. We only had to go to the doctor for two weight checks. On Saturday he had gained two ounces and on Monday he’d gained three! He only lost 9 percent of his birth weight before he started gaining. So I didn’t have to pump and we didn’t have to supplement with formula.

010
Peyton has a couple awake times each day now. Unfortunately, they aren’t consistent, and the other night it was from 10 to 1:30. But last night he was awake after dinner and we did some tummy time. Allie decided to help him with his tummy time.

We have had some cluster feeding nights, but he’s also had a longer stretch of sleep each night, four hours or more. That is huge for this sleep-deprived Mama! He usually feeds twice in the middle of the night, after I’ve gone to sleep. I should be sleeping right now, but there just aren’t enough hours in the day to get everything done. I am just amazed by how quickly the days have gone.

012
It is such a relief that feeding is going so well. That was such a source of anxiety with Allie. I am less stressed this time and enjoying our new family more.

014
We’re adjusting pretty well, for the most part. But there is still plenty of adjusting to come. Its been hard to coordinate two kids. I still have no idea how we’ll get everyone out the door in the morning when we’re all back to work. But I’m doing my best not to worry about that right now.

My recovery has gone pretty well. It seemed a little slow earlier in the week but that was because I tried to do too much too soon. I’m a lot better now and enjoying no longer being pregnant! Among the joys are that the acid reflux went away immediately and I’ve had almost no SI joint pain. The only real negative is that I’ve had a headache for a few days now, I think just because I’m holding tension in my upper body during feeding. Hopefully that will go away soon.

I’m trying not to be disappointed that I still have the pregnant belly and swelling all the way up my legs. Thats been getting better the last few days as well. I’m starting to think about getting back to the gym. That probably won’t be until sometime next week. Right now the goal is to feed Peyton and get enough sleep. We finally got the house cleaned up the other day and I’ve gotten to a point where I can take some naps during the day. That really helps me get through the overnight feedings.

I’m not complaining. Not by any means. I know the sleepless nights will end soon and just like that my baby will grow up. So I’m doing my best to cherish these moments.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “One week old!

  1. Peyton is a cutie. Glad to hear that BFing is going more easily this time. You’ll start looking back to normal soon. I was surprised when I still looked like I was 5 months pregnant a month after delivery.

Leave a Reply

