Life as we know it

Our family adventures

My post-baby body two weeks out

Leave a comment

031

“40 weeks 3 days” or 12 days post partum, picture taken on Monday

I went to the gym today for the first time in two and a half weeks! My 25-minute walk on the treadmill was both awesome and awful at the same time. Hopefully I can get there on a regular basis between feedings and other commitments.

Two weeks out, I’m seeing glimpses of my old body. But its still way different. My hips are humongous. Even though my belly and swelling are going down, my hips are too wide for any of my smaller pants. I don’t know when or if they’ll go back. I got out my boxes of smaller jeans on Monday, even smaller maternity jeans, and nothing fit. I’ll try them every few days maybe.

I’ve only lost 11 pounds so far. I gained a total of 58, so at least thats an improvement over 65 with Allie, right? Since I started a few pounds less, the total number on the scale ended up 11 pounds less than with Allie. But right now my weight is where is was stuck for over a year after having Allie. I’m hoping I still have fluid to lose, but I think it had pretty much dried up by two weeks with Allie.

With establishing breast feeding, I know I need to eat. Its definitely making me hungry. We’ve had our fair share of junk food. But we are starting to eat more healthy too. We just need to balance that better with the junk food. It doesn’t help that I’m often starving after overnight feedings!

I know I shouldn’t worry about it too much right now. But I also know it took close to two years to lose the weight I gained when I was pregnant with Allie, and I don’t want that to happen this time. For right now my goal is to eat less junk and to get back into shape. Today’s walk felt good, but it was somewhat difficult. I got a side stitch pretty early in the walk and my back hurt by the end. I know it won’t take long to get back into shape though, as long as I keep at it. I do plan on joining weight watchers in a couple weeks too.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

