Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Diet day 1

1 Comment

Well, now its actually day 2. I joined Weight Watchers yesterday. I’m in the same spot that I stayed in for more than a year with Allie, and I’m determined not to let that happen again.

I’m only a pound below my weight when I first joined Weight Watchers in 2011. My initial weight yesterday was 216. Yuck. I had lost a few pounds beyond that last week, but we ate terribly over the weekend.

It seemed way too easy when I got my points goal, 46! Last time I stopped Weight Watchers I think I only had 26. But I’m up several pounds over that and get more for breast feeding. And a day and a half in I can definitely tell its not easy and I was way overeating. I have 16 points left for today and thats after eating a decent breakfast and lunch and a snack in between. And dinner usually ends up being the highest points of the day.

Eating well will hopefully get easier as I’m starting to cook more again. I made a sausage pasta bake on Wednesday and froze half to continue our freezer stash. I’m hoping I can get into that rhythm of still doing a couple freezer meals each week as those are so helpful. Then yesterday I made some pork and black bean chili in the crock pot.

I’m getting back into working out too. Yesterday I walked on the treadmill for 30 minutes, which is five more minutes than I did last Wednesday. I felt stronger at the start but the last 10 minutes were still a struggle.

I can’t wait to get back to running, but I’m going to break up my comeback into smaller goals. The first is to get through two weeks of consistent walking. Once I do that, then I’ll start adding running in. I’m not thinking about my race calendar just yet… but I’m sure I will be soon! I do want to be careful though with doing too much too soon. I was so fixated on running a half marathon when I got back to running after Allie and I ended up with bad shin splints. My half marathon ended up being put on hold for a year.

The biggest challenge in this task will be finding the time to get to the gym! That’s hard right now, but it will be even harder when I go back to work. I will eventually have to sacrifice sleep to get to the gym, but its not time for that yet!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Diet day 1

  1. Good luck with getting back to the gym and getting on track with your eating. I’ve hit a plateau with weight loss in the last couple weeks and started tracking my calories a few days ago and yikes! it was eye opening. Breastfeeding and working out (even though I’m only doing 30 or so minute workouts) really makes you hungry!

Leave a Reply

