Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I RAN today!

Leave a comment

Three months and one day after my last run… I ran today! I was going to wait a few more days, but its been on my mind since Thursday. And then I was posting in one my running Mama Facebook groups this morning about my plans. I drove to the gym and decided if my walk was going well that I would go ahead and try running.

I started walking for 15 minutes. Then I upped the treadmill pace and just like that I was running! It was just as one of my new mama running friends said… slogging through mud. My legs felt like stumps. My knees and shins hurt a bit at first, but where I really felt the impact was in my arms. I was holding tension the whole time. It might have to do in part with the chafing on my arms, but I do remember at times when I was starting to run again that I had to relearn running without that tension.

It wasn’t as good as my last run on Dec. 23… and that run wasn’t good! It will get better though. Perhaps one good part part… no round ligament pain! I don’t miss that at all! I suppose it remains to be seen if I end up with pain in my pelvis. That can still be pretty common with running post partum.

My goal was between 5 and 10 minutes. I probably should have stopped at 5 minutes, but I took it to 7, which amounted to half a mile! I’m sure I’ll feel it later. My legs hurt all night Thursday after my walk. And next time it might be better for me to keep it a little shorter. But I will just have to see how I feel.

After my 7 minutes of running, I walked for 17 minutes to round out my workout at 40. It was actually 40:30, 2.5 miles. So I’ve logged 5 miles this week! Last week I logged 3.5, so I’m making progress!

As much as I’d like to train for a half marathon this fall, I will probably keep my distance goals lower. While I know I c0uld train to the distance, I don’t know how hard it will be to train while also coordinating two kids. I haven’t figured out yet how I’ll get the workouts in after I go to work. So I’m going to look to a 5K by May or June and a 10K by this fall. Of course if training goes better than expected and handling two kids ends up being a piece of cake, that goal can be re-evaluated!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

