Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Runner’s high

Leave a comment

I haven’t experience runner’s high in a long time. I can’t even venture a guess of when. But I did today, when I totally didn’t expect it.

Last week I bought a new iPod to replace my ancient mp3 player. It’s at least 6 years old and doesn’t have any storage compared to new models. I had about 500 songs in my Windows Media Player library, and if I tried to add new songs, it would just bump off old ones. Contrast that to the iPod Classic, the model I chose instead of iPod touch, which has room for 40,000 songs!

Anyway, I also bought a couple new albums to add to my music collection. One of them was this compilation called “Now That’s What I Call a Workout.” I took the iPod to the gym today and listened to that album, the first time I’ve worked out with music in a long time.

Oh. My. Gosh. This was seriously the best workout I’ve had in a long time. I really struggled the last few weeks I ran in pregnancy. I struggled even more with any kind of exercise after I stopped running. Today was my third run and even though it still wasn’t very fast or very long, it was amazing. I ran 15 minutes and let myself go a bit faster than I had before… 4.5 mph instead of 4.4. Wild, I know!

I had my goal of running 10 to 15 minutes. I made it 15, which was almost 1.25 miles! I wanted to run more but I stopped because I knew I wasn’t ready for that. I want to avoid the shin splints that derailed my plans after I had Allie. Then I kept walking 25 more minutes for a total workout of 45 minutes and 3 miles. I’m aiming to run a 5K in June… hopefully it continues to go this well! I know I surely will continue running with music!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

