Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Back to the land of grownups

1 Comment

Thursday our world was turned around again as Mama went back to work.

It was hard getting up with the alarm for the first time in a month and a half. Even though I haven’t gotten a full night’s sleep in that time, the alarm is still hard to deal with! Especially when Peyton wakes for a feeding at 3:30 a.m., leaving less than an hour left to sleep after he’s done. By lunchtime Thursday I was exhausted!

Honestly, I’d been ready to go back to to work for a week or more.

The part of our new family dynamic that’s intimidated me the most has been how to function when I go back to work. I chose to go back on a Thursday to ease our way into it. It actually wasn’t too bad to get out the door. Instead of going to daycare, Peyton is staying home with Dada for right now. So we just needed to get Allie and Mama out the door. I got up and got myself ready and then will either feed Peyton or pump if he’s not awake to feed. Dada got Allie ready to go.

Thursday Peyton wasn’t awake, so it made leaving a bit easier. Friday he was up for a feeding so I wasn’t so keen on leaving his beautiful face! It made it harder in general because of course Peyton started smiling at me earlier this week! I don’t think they’re real smiles yet, but real enough for me!

By the time I got home Thursday, I was really looking forward to seeing Peyton and also feeding him.

I’m taking longer breaks at work, so I need to work a bit longer each day. My goal is to start my work day earlier at 7:30 instead of 8. I started at 7:45 both days. A work in progress, but not too bad.

Getting out the door in the morning and home at night went fine. The harder part is going to be coordinating dinner and eventually finding time for Mama to get a few workouts in during the week. I prefer the morning, but since I have to either feed or pump, the only way I can workout in the morning is to get up at 4 and that’s not going to happen. I think Dada will have to give Peyton an extra bottle a couple nights a week so I can workout in the evenings. I’m not looking forward to that, I’ve never been good with night workouts. But I’ll have to take what I can get right now.

The evening workouts might not happen right away though. Both Thursday and Friday I was falling asleep while feeding Peyton around 8! I didn’t get to bed until 9:30 though because of all the stuff we need to get done at night.

Dinner ended up being Glass Nickel pizza on Thursday and Culver’s on Friday. We’ll get that fixed next week.

As far as the work days, I was pleasantly surprised to come back to less work than when I left! The word was that my workflow was just going to sit there waiting for me to get back. But it turns out several people took various tasks out of my work. So I spent awhile Thursday morning making sure things had gotten done on emails and phone calls and the I was pretty much ready to just work like normal.

My pumping breaks have taken longer than I’d like. Hopefully I’ll get faster with practice. Thursday went by really quickly, but I was completely exhausted by lunch time. Friday was a bit better, though by a bit better I mean I lasted a little longer before the exhaustion set in. But Friday I got to leave early for my post partum doctor’s appointment.

So a short week went well, I wonder how it will be with a full week?

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Back to the land of grownups

  1. Good luck with your first full week tomorrow. Remember, pumping and feeding will get quicker and easier as time goes on!

Leave a Reply

