Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Some version of my former running self

Leave a comment

I ran 3 miles on Saturday. Three miles is my long run right now! But the good news is that I’m starting to feel like some version of my former running self. I feel more comfortable; it doesn’t feel like torture to run just 2 miles! After my first 3-mile run the Saturday before last, I could barely run a mile and a half on Monday. After this week’s 3-mile run, I was much more comfortable running 2 miles on Monday!

And… I just signed up for a 5K last night! I’m running the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5K on Saturday. It could very well be awful, but I want to run this in honor of my friend Jana, who’s parents recently died in much-too-quick succession, her mother from breast cancer. I’ve been incredibly blessed to not have cancer touch my family so deeply and I know that can change at any moment. So I’m running the 5K and made a donation as well.

I ran 25 miles in May. My “long run” is 3 miles. But at least 3 miles is feeling more comfortable. The first was terrible, second was better than the first. Hopefully the third time during the 5K on Saturday will be the charm!

This morning my weight was 208.8, yuck. In spite of my early thoughts that I was losing weight better after Peyton’s birth, I’m really stuck at the same spot. I was stuck at 217 for over a year after having Allie; that was stalled about 20 pounds lost from pregnancy. My weight now is stalled about 20 pounds lost from pregnancy, just I ended 11 pounds lighter than I was with Allie.

I just have such a hard time keeping to a good diet! I really need to start tracking my food again and control myself on the weekends. I feel like I eat well during the week but we just let ourselves go on the weekends. I think I’m retaining water too, which makes me think I’m eating too many carbs. I know I’m supposed to eat more with breast feeding, and running on top of that. I need to get tracking again so I can keep my points in check! I really feel like if I could keep my diet in check I’d be losing weight right now.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

