Life as we know it

Our family adventures

6 months

Leave a comment

And at six months… Peyton’s still a little shrimp! We had his 6-month check up this afternoon and he weighed in at 15 pounds 6 ounces and 25 3/4 inch long (when do you start saying tall, when they stand up?). That puts him in the 12th percentile for both height and weight. He’s still moving up along the curve, but his percentile has gone down every time! He’s healthy and happy though, and the doc wasn’t concerned. I learned after being needlessly worried about things with Allie that if the doctor isn’t concerned, I shouldn’t be concerned either!
011
Last weekend I finally got the high chair tray all washed up to use again. Just look how tiny he looks with that big tray in front of him! We still haven’t tried anything other than green beans and carrots, and carrots seem to be by far his favorite. He ate almost the entire cup of carrots tonight at dinner time! We have some other stuff to try, but you’re supposed to introduce foods slowly and watch for reaction, so I figured if he’ll be reacting to his shots, we should wait on any new food.
009
I’m noticing that he really is interested in what’s going on around him now and he really likes to play. He’s so happy and he kicks his legs like crazy and smiles and giggles constantly.

He’s moving out of the “bump on a log” stage. Its fun to put him down on his big blanket on the floor and see where he will go. He inches around on the floor to change the direction he is laying. He still doesn’t roll much, and he’s only rolled from his back to tummy once. Allie was a late roller too, but made up for it later. We need to have more play time with putting his toys out of reach. That’s what makes him try to roll. He’s tried a few times since the first time and can’t quite do it yet, so he gets a little frustrated.

We’re still having teething issues every few days and those teeth aren’t any closer to cutting, at least not from what I can see.

Today is a big accomplishment for me in the area of breast feeding. I had such a hard time with Allie for various reasons that I can’t even really remember anymore. I breast fed her til 6 months and I can’t remember if I started or finished weaning her when she turned 6 months. At the time I was surprised I made it that long.

Now, however, I have no thoughts of weaning Peyton. I had some issues in May and June that almost caused me to consider weaning, but I figured it all out and now its all good! I don’t really know what kind of goal I have for how long to continue breast feeding now. I suppose if I went a year that would be cool. My immediate concern is maintaining my supply during our trip to Las Vegas in three weeks. Hopefully that won’t be an issue.

The last six months have been great. Its funny how similar the experience is, but also how different it is with the second kid. I can’t wait to see where the ride takes us next!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

