Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Literacy Network 5K

Leave a comment

Taking a break from Vegas…

Yesterday was the Literacy Network 5K. I’ve done this race twice before and really enjoyed it. It seems like maybe they have a different management company doing it now or something because I didn’t like it as much yesterday as I have in the past.

Either way, it was a race and I ran it. And my sister Jeni ran it too! Well, she walked a lot of it, but key component to one’s first 5K is finishing, and she did that! Here are a few pictures from before the race.
001
The runners.
003
This is a nice family picture, I think! I love races when my family can come!
005
And Jeni with her family, Dave and Tyler! Its great having cheering sections!

I hadn’t done this race for a few years, so I thought this was like other downtown races where we have to navigate Observatory hill. I was pleasantly reminded, however, that this race is down on the Lakeshore Path. So not only were there not really any hills, but the nice soft gravel surface!

My goal was to finish in under 40 minutes. And I did! I also felt really good and strong and I ran the whole thing! My last 5K in August was tough with the heat and hills; I finished in 40:54. I thought yesterday’s race was my best time, but just had to look up my results from the June 5K (that I managed to never record here in this blog!). Anyway, I found I finished that race in 37:39!

Yesterday I finished in 37:58 by my Garmin and 38:15 by my chip. So a few seconds more than June’s race. But I felt so much stronger in yesterday’s race! It must have definitely been all the walking we did in Vegas because I haven’t been running as much as I’d like!

006
Hmmm, the clock here says 38:10, I wonder how my chip said 38:15! The timing chip was a new kind I’d never used before and we didn’t go over a mat to start timing. I think they just started the chip when the gun went. Whatever. A few seconds doesn’t matter. But I wasn’t thrilled to see the race run out of food (if I’d been running the 10K, I wouldn’t have gotten any) or that they only had water in cups, no water I could take along. The thing I really liked about this race in the past was the nice long-sleeve t-shirt. Well this shirt is comfortable, but thin and not as nice as shirts in the past. The race was also a couple weeks earlier than it had been before (used to be in mid-October). But like I said, whatever, it was a race and I ran it. On to the next one.

Jeni ran it too! After I finished, Allie and I went down the road a bit to cheer for Jeni as she came in. She said she heard us all the way down the road.

007
That’s Jeni in the blue shirt. I am so proud of her finishing her first 5K!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

