Life as we know it

Our family adventures

DNS

Leave a comment

My thought going in to Saturday was that assuming I could breathe, I’d run my race. Well as it happened, I felt worse Friday night and woke Saturday morning with chest tightness and trouble breathing. And so I added one more “did not start” to my list.

I wish I could say it ended there, but it didn’t. I ended up in the Urgent Care clinic on Sunday because my chest tightness and shortness of breath was worse. Turns out I have pneumonia. Fantastic. The good news is that three days into meds, I’m feeling better, though definitely not recovered yet.

To make this even more fun, Peyton and Allie are both now sick… again. This whole crud started with Peyton more than two weeks ago now. Dada took Peyton to Urgent Care last night. He just has a virus, probably the same one I had that luckily didn’t turn into pneumonia. Allie went to daycare yesterday but came home early with a stomach bug. So we’re all home today on Tuesday. The house is a mess and no one has any clean clothes. I’m at about 65% now so Dada and I are working to get the house back in order.

Peyton didn’t sleep much at all Sunday night and slept better last night. He was up twice though and my prednisone makes sleep difficult, which hasn’t combined well with the night wake ups. I’m really tired.

However, it does seem like we may be on our way out of this mess, maybe. I sure hope we are because Allie’s birthday is tomorrow and of course there’s Halloween on Thursday!

Of course, when I couldn’t run on Saturday, my initial thoughts were finding a replacement race. The only real option at this point is the Berbee Derby. But that race is my bad luck race, where I’ve had two of my other three “did not starts.” Not to mention with pneumonia I’m sure I’m in for an extended running break, so I might not be ready for the race. It may be for the best though as I was feeling a little burned out. My plans after the Haunted Hustle were to pull back on the running and start doing some other workouts for the winter. I’ll just have to see what happens, since I’m not sure when I’ll be able to even start working out again.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

