Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Kitty cake

1 Comment

Today we had Grandma and Grandpa Swanson, Uncle Jacob, Uncle Dave, Aunt Jeni and Cousin Tyler over for Allie’s birthday cake.
030
Peyton liked playing with Uncle Jacob.
032
There were a few times Peyton cried when Uncle Jacob left his sight!
028
I made this amazing pulled pork in the crock pot for sandwiches for lunch. But the main event was right here:
035
Allie’s kitty cake. One weekend I wanted to bake a cake and as I was looking through the cookbook, Allie saw the kitty cake and wanted me to make that one. I told her I’d make it for her birthday. It was probably about a month ago and she never forgot about her kitty cake!
038
This wasn’t an easy endeavor for me. I made one cake and both cakes broke into pieces coming out of the pans. I’d been thinking it was going too well! So I made another cake, and these cakes stayed intact. Then this afternoon I made the frosting… it turned out good but was really dry. I made one batch and found that it wouldn’t be enough, so I made a second batch, but that one was more dry than the first. I frosted the top of the cake, but the frosting wouldn’t stick to the sides. So top frosting it was! I had gotten a container of white icing to do the kitty details. Well, as I posted on Facebook, I’m well aware I have no future as a cake decorator… but Allie sure loved her kitty cake!
040
And even though it wasn’t the prettiest cake… it looked like a kitty and it sure tasted good!
044
Allie got a My Little Pony purse from Grandma and Grandpa and some cool clothes from Jeni and Dave. She loved all her presents tons! She’s so into dresses lately. In fact, she put one dress and a shirt from Aunt Jeni over the dress she was already wearing.
045
Bonus fun… tonight we babysat Cousin Tyler so Jeni and Dave could have a night away. I was a little nervous about having another kid in our tiny house, but it went really well! We had a lot of fun. It was a taste of life with 3… it could happen in a few years!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Kitty cake

  1. You forgot to mention that I attended via FaceTime!

Leave a Reply

