Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Thankful

Leave a comment

This Thanksgiving, we have plenty to be thankful for. We always do.

But events of the past year and even the past month really drive this point home.

I haven’t talked about this much here, but Doug was unemployed for the past 11 months. He started working a week and a half ago, ironically at his old employer. He’s in his same job, with some changes and a raise. Talk about ending up where you’re supposed to be!

Its been a challenge adjusting to having both Mama and Dada working again. Its hard to coordinate getting us all out of the house in the morning. Its hard dealing with the interim budget between when you can no longer receive unemployment and when you receive a pay check. And I’m going to be honest here… I miss coming home to a clean kitchen every day!

But Doug is happy to be working again, and especially back at Nimblegen. And the job came just at the right time.

I’m thankful we’re all healthy. And I’m not just talking none of us have sniffles. I’m thankful that I have two beautiful kids who are completely perfect, doctor’s words! Its too easy these days to hear news or stories of families who aren’t so lucky. Hopefully we continue to be lucky.

I’m also very thankful that our month of sick finally ended! I still feel the effects of the pneumonia from a month ago. My doctor actually told me pneumonia can be visible on a chest xray up to six or more weeks after. I do feel that when I walk up the stairs sometimes or when I work out. This week I finally decided I’m not letting the pneumonia (or cold or wind) stop me from running. Tomorrow I’m running my goal 10K distance… just a month later than planned at the Berbee Derby. I wasn’t planning on running this race, mainly because its cold and the parking is terrible. But the way plans shook out I decided to run it after all. Its gonna be brutal, but I’m going into it with the intention of just finishing. If I could finish in 1:15 or less, that would be great, but I’m not pushing for that.

Too bad I can’t be thankful for everything though… I’m not very thankful that Peyton has been teething for six of his nine months of life, and that the remaining three teeth appear very comfy just under the surface of the gums. I’m also not too thankful that state offices are open Friday and that I don’t have enough vacation time to take the day off. Oh well, I should get a lot done!

I didn’t really feel that excited for Thanksgiving this week. There’s just too much to do and its hard to coordinate all the cooking. We’re going to my family’s house on Saturday, so we’re doing our Durso family feast tomorrow. But I planned the menu and did some pre-cooking tasks tonight so I think tomorrow will go smoothly. We’ll have our feast and put up our Christmas tree and enjoy being together.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

