Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Feast day

1 Comment

Happy Thanksgiving! We had a great day relaxing at home while awaiting the Durso family feast, version 2013.
001

Mama ran the Berbee Derby this morning (race report in another post). While I was running, Dada and Allie put together the Christmas tree! We had a lot of fun with this last year and it sounded like Dada and Allie were having even more fun today. The branches go on by matching letters and colors, so this is a good learning activity for Allie.

002

She took tree duty seriously!

 

003

During the tree process, they had on the parade. But starting at 11:30 it was all football all the time.

004

 

It was so fun watching Peyton today! He’s getting to be such a big boy. He watched football with Dada. We were surprised at times how intently he was watching.

006

While Dada and the kids were watching football, Mama was in the kitchen. I made the crust and filling for the pumpkin pie last night. So after a bit of recovery I started the feast. First I got the pie in the oven. I found out that even with my new oven, pumpkin pie still takes way longer than the recipe says. The recipe is an hour. I had it in for an hour and 40 minutes. While the pie baked, I got this stuffing in the crock pot. I was so excited when I found the crock pot recipe and it turned out so good! Then I prepped the turkey and waited for the pie to be done… and waited and waited. Finally once the pie was done the turkey went in the oven and I got to join the relaxing for awhile. Too bad the Packers couldn’t play!

Dinner came together nicely with mashed potatoes, white corn, green bean cassarole, Hawaiian roles and of course the turkey and stuffing! The turkey ended up a bit overcooked, but aside from a few dry pieces, it was still great!

009

 

Peyton enjoyed his Thanksgiving dinner! He liked the turkey and mashed potatoes. I gave him a couple pieces of stuffing, but he had a hard time swallowing, so he didn’t get more. He liked the big people food so much, he cried when I gave him his baby food! My baby boy is growing up! He also enjoyed the pumpkin pie.

All in all, we had a great day. And we have a great weekend coming up! Well, I have to get through one more day of work first.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Feast day

  1. Looks like you and your family had a great Thanksgiving! Thanks for the trying out the slow cooker stuffing recipe! I’m glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

