Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Birthday weekend

Leave a comment

And now I’m another year older. I had a nice birthday weekend. Its funny to me though… what I consider a nice birthday weekend now is a lot different than it was five years ago!

On Saturday we went out for a holiday activity we hadn’t done before, holiday tours of the governor’s mansion. It was a bit shorter than we expected, I thought I’d read the tours were a half hour. But maybe those are the general mansion tours they do in the summer. For this one we saw main level rooms in the house. Each was decorated by a different organization in the state and had a different theme. If I was an interior decorated and had the budget I would have taken all of these ideas!
008
I don’t remember the name of each room… its a mansion so all the rooms were “fancy” rooms like drawing room, sitting room, sun room… I just don’t remember which one was which!
009
This was the main room and the main tree, the military tree. We got pamphlets with info about each room/tree, but I misplaced them and I can’t remember the specifics. But I do remember each ornament on this particular tree was for a service person and the big stars at the top are for those who were lost.
010
I loved the smell of fresh evergreen throughout the tour! Also the lake views through the windows, which I didn’t really get in any of the pictures. Doug and I agree… we wouldn’t mind living in the same neighborhood as the governor… as if we could ever afford it! A house a couple doors down is on the market for just under $2 million!
013
The library was my favorite, both the room and the decor. If only I had the design ability and the budget to take these ideas!
011
I couldn’t help wondering if items through the house were just staged or items the family uses. Do they actually sit on those couches or read the books on that shelf?
012
Our favorite room was the candy cane theme in the sun room, which was the last room on the tour. Unfortunately my camera battery died before I could get a picture! The tour exited out the sun room on the side of the house. If it had been warmer… even just a little bit (it was about 8 that day, not counting the wind chill), it would have been nice to walk around the grounds a little bit.

After the tour, we drove around the neighborhood a bit. This is something Doug and I have enjoyed doing as we are hoping to move in the next year. Then we went to Uno’s for birthday lunch and even got dessert! It was excellent.

Then we hunkered down at home. Part of the reason we did birthday festivities on Saturday was because of football on Sunday, but more because of the snow expected on Sunday. So Sunday Dada let me sleep in (though I woke up way too early! But I got to stay in bed for a bit after the kids got up), then he and Allie made me breakfast in bed! I did a few chores around the house. The only hiccup of the day came when I took the kids out in the mess to my friend’s son’s first birthday party only to find out it was on Saturday! I guess my excuse is I’m old? So once we got home from that we ordered pizza for dinner and I baked some cookies. One of my favorite things to do on my birthday is make Christmas cookies, though I wasn’t that into it this year. I just made some chocolate chip but those didn’t turn out as good as usual because I baked them too long.

So now I’m 29 again… wonder what the next year holds?

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

