Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Running in 2014

Leave a comment

Yesterday, the 5th, I finally ran my first miles of the new year. I got 3 miles in on the treadmill… only 597 to go! I hadn’t run since Dec. 19, so two and a half weeks. I sure feel those two and a half weeks! My legs are really sore. Hopefully I can get myself to the gym more frequently than every other week now and get my fitness back.

If I’m being honest, running in 2013 was a bit disappointing. Since I set my goals a little too high after I had Allie, I decided to set my goals lower after having Peyton. But I think setting my goals lower made motivation difficult. I did reach my goals, but it wasn’t as triumphant as I would have expected. I suppose that does have to do with the fact I got sick and missed my goal race… even if I’d had higher goals I couldn’t have done much about that.

With low motivation and low health, I sputted to 231.3 miles by the end of 2013.

This year my goal is to run 600 miles and two half marathons, or at least one half. I want to run a half in May and in the fall.

Running with two kids is harder than I expected it to be, especially to coordinate running with two kids, breastfeeding and both Doug and I working again. But Peyton is getting bigger and breastfeeding will be drawing to a close in the next few months. We’re getting into a somewhat normal pattern.

Right now the biggest battle is health and the weather. I didn’t run for two and a half weeks because of being crazy busy and then having a chest cold for a week and a half. I keep forgetting to use my inhaler before running so that makes running hard on my lungs. With the super frigid weather I’m not going to run again until at least Wednesday. Even if it wasn’t so cold, my legs are sore!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

