Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Getting it together

1 Comment

A subtitle could be: Things are going tooooo well. Or: It could all fall apart any moment.

Don’t get me wrong. I love feeling like I’ve got it together!

One of the biggest contributing factors to this feeling… sleep!
allie morning
I think the kids would agree! Peyton has slept through the night three out of the last four nights. It is amazing how amazing one can feel with a full night of sleep.
peyton morning
Here’s the face of a good night’s sleep!

Planning meals is a lifesaver. Planning meals to be ready when we get home or very quick prep is even more of a lifesaver! We’ve been getting home earlier this week in general. With dinner ready, we get done with dinner and take the time to clean the kitchen. Then we STILL have a few minutes to let the kids play before its time for bed… and perhaps the best thing is Doug and I have a bit longer to relax kid-free before its time for bed.

Last night in addition to cleaning the kitchen after dinner, we had time for Doug to put away his laundry and for me and Allie to clean the living room, which I also then vacuumed. Maybe this doesn’t feel like a big deal to some… but being able to keep the house clean during the week definitely helps me to feel a little less stressed.

I feel like planning our dinners has already made a big difference in how we eat. I’m getting back into the habit of running too. Through December when it started getting so cold and when Peyton wasn’t sleeping well, I’d just sleep. Right now I’m more in the mindset that when the conditions allow it, I’m going to get up and run. Conditions at this point are good sleep and good weather/roads. Those were both met when I got up on Wednesday morning so even though I wasn’t planning on it, I got in a run. It was a little longer run too. It also helps that its warmed up a bit lately… I’ll have to battle the cold again next week though. I’ve shattered my December running total with 14.5 miles so far this month. I’ll add a third run this weekend, for the first week in I don’t know how long of getting three runs in the same week! Hopefully soon I will add in other cross training as well. This morning I didn’t work out though since I did yesterday.

In the last two weeks I’ve lost 2 pounds. This makes me so happy because I’m doing it without any kind of tools. No weight watchers, no counting calories. None of those methods haven’t worked for me in awhile as we’ve adjusted to the new normal. I feel like right now I’m doing it by planning good meals and working out. You know, the old-fashioned way. I’m feeling so good, I don’t even want junk food as much. I’m not snacking in the afternoons as much either.

I am well aware it could all fall apart at any time, so I’m savoring it for right now. And I’m starting to plan next week’s menu. Hopefully all these positive happenings continue!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Getting it together

  1. That’s awesome! Yes, it’s AMAZING how much better you feel with sleep. We’ve had some good nights here, recently, too, but as you know, there are never any guarantees. Here’s hoping the good sleep continues!

Leave a Reply

