Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Special January days

Leave a comment

I used to remember late January more for the negative. But now there is more positive. It was four years ago yesterday I started working for unemployment insurance. In that time I’ve managed to get a couple promotions and raises! I still can’t forget that yesterday was also the day I was laid off from my newspaper career five years ago. I can’t forget starting 2010 getting ready to somberly observe a full year of unemployment, when I got the call from the unemployment job… the irony of my first day of work falling on the one-year anniversary of my layoff. I still would go back to my newspaper career in a heartbeat, but I also know our life is much better off how it is now. I can’t imagine how much more difficult it would be to navigate life with two kids while also working nights! I am so glad to have the job security that comes with working for the state.

Today is another fun anniversary. Nine years ago today, Doug and I went on our first date.
first pic
This is the first picture of us from a couple months after the first date… I couldn’t find a copy on my computer so I took a picture of the picture in Doug’s first Valentine’s Day present he got me. I guess I could have dusted it off first. But aren’t we cute?
DursoII0448
And the rest, as they say, is history.

Today is also Peyton’s 11-month birthday!
peyton morning
We’re still having a hard time with teething. We are sleeping better at night though, thank goodness.

The big news as we hit 11 months is all the new foods Peyton is trying. He’s a big fan of butter crackers. We buy the generic, I think the brand is club crackers? We can’t even let him see them or he will cry for some. Its still often a long process at meal time. Peyton gets frustrated sometimes too. Yesterday he was really hungry at breakfast and was enjoying the scrambled eggs and hash browns, but preferred his oatmeal as he could eat it faster. Almost every meal last weekend Peyton had some table food. And certain foods are getting a little faster! Among new foods recently in addition to the crackers are: real oatmeal (actual oats as opposed to the baby oatmeal that I mix with water) scrambled eggs, hash browns, cheddar cheese, meatballs, mashed potatoes, apple sauce, small noodles and steamed carrots and broccoli.

Peyton is very mobile now, in spite of not crawling. His army crawl with a dolphin kick reminds me of swimming, maybe that will be his sport? I took a video last weekend, but I’m not sure how to post it here. I will try to get it posted soon. Peyton is quite content with his army crawl. He surprises us with how fast he can move and he looks so proud! He stands up leaning on things like the couch, but he still doesn’t sit up or stand up himself.

He loves the music table thing he got from Tyler. We take the legs off a lot so he can just play with it on the ground rather than standing.
001
The only other big happening I can think of is last night Mama got brave and gave Peyton his first bath in the big tub. Before I was still just sitting him up in the infant tub. It went well, though a little nerve wracking for Mama! It didn’t seem to make much difference to Peyton. He did enjoy playing with the bath letters though.

I can hardly believe Peyton will be 1 in just a month! Where has the time gone?

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

