Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Fitness going into February

Leave a comment

I achieved what I wanted in January, running-wise, by getting my motivation back and logging some miles. My mileage goal for the year averages out to 11.6 miles per week or 50 miles per month. I’m nowhere near that for weekly mileage, but I’ve made a good start. I ran 26.5 miles in January, which beats my November mileage. I had to slow it down a bit after I started having some shin splints mid-month. My new shoes have remedied those, though I do still need to work on my shin strength in general. 

So heading into February, I’ve already logged 5 miles. I’m happy to report I’ve decided my new shoes will work, at least for a few months, with the right socks. I’m building up my running time yet again after my cut back and transition to new shoes. I think I’m also a bit more fatigued with my return to body flow and more toning exercises and cross training. I’ll get there. I just need to keep reminding myself of that! 

I’m a bit up in the air with my racing goals right now. Its hard to make any kind of plans with the seemingly endless winter. Running on the treadmill is hard. Its hard for me to gauge my fitness right now. I’d still like to think a May half marathon is possible, but I’ll need to wait probably until the end of the month to really decide. I figure if I can get up to about 5 miles on my longest run by the end of February or mid-March, I can build up to train for a half in about two and a half to three months once the snow melts. I’d also like to consider a couple races before a May half as well. 

I started going to Body Flow classes again three weeks ago. Its hard, but not as hard as that first class. The last class had a lot of lunges, so I could barely lift my legs afterward! I’m also doing a 30-day plank challenge in one of my Facebook groups. Body Flow has been really good cross training and for toning. My back feels better when I’m doing that cross training to strengthen my core and my back. The strength and balance portions of Body Flow make me a better runner too. I was running my best when I first got pregnant with Peyton, and I attribute that to Body Flow. 

The plank challenge will help with the core and back strength too. Its a challenge to do a plank every day and increase the amount of time holding the plank. This is really hard for me. I’m not sure how much I can increase my time holding a plank, but I will do it every day, and this will be the first time I can say I’ve done that! Today is day 4 and I did two days at 20 seconds and two days at 30 seconds. I’m sure I’ll be able to improve my time more than I expect as I get stronger. 

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

