Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Happy and healthy

Leave a comment

Peyton’s fever stuck around way longer than anticipated. I complained all week about staying home and burning through my sick time and there wasn’t really that much to do, at least not that I felt like doing.

By the time we got to Wednesday, I was optimistic when he got up from his nap without a fever, but then it came roaring back. We ended up taking him to the doctor that afternoon, where the simple stuff came up normal, no ear infection, no strep. So they did a chest xray, blood draw and urinalysis. All those invasive tests later, everything was normal and indicated a virus.

I think deep down I knew it was just a virus, but it isn’t good for a fever to hang around this long in kids this small. I also know that RSV and other illnesses are going around. It was so heart breaking to put Peyton through this. Especially during the chest xray, he had to be basically loaded into this mold in order to get him positioned right. The woman said they wanted him to cry because that would help them get a better picture. I had to hold his arms up and he was just looking at me asking, “why are you letting them do this to me, Mama?”

We were relieved that there was really nothing wrong, but I felt bad for putting him through that. But perspective came that night when I talked to my friend, who’s son is two months younger, and she told me he’d had (and in turn then, all of them) RSV. RSV is basically a really bad cold in adults but can be devastating in babies. I know a few other parents who are dealing with similar illnesses in their young kids. At that point Wednesday night, I had resigned myself to staying home again Thursday and not complaining as I waited for my poor baby to get better.

Thursday morning I got up early and headed to the gym for my run, and put on my jammies after my shower. Then I went downstairs and was told by Doug that the fever was gone! Peyton was in a good mood too. So off we went to daycare and work.

Now I’ve gotten back into the grind, just in time for the weekend. Peyton seems completely recovered, and luckily no one else in the house has gotten sick yet. This weekend we’re looking forward to a birthday party at Grandma and Grandpa Swanson’s house. We may also do the celebration we didn’t get to have last weekend. The whole time I’ll definitely be counting my lucky stars and thankful that my baby is all better and that he didn’t get sicker.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

