Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Next up: Madison Mini and, gulp, school!

Leave a comment

We threw our vacation together basically last minute, a month before departure. It was honestly a surprise as Doug and I had agreed we wouldn’t go on a big vacation this year. But how could we have passed up the opportunity to have a great family vacation and take our kids to the beach?

So its not like we were waiting for our beach vacation very long, but now its over and as happens a lot, I find myself asking, now what?

Well, we’ve got two big events coming up pretty fast. I’ll be running the Madison Mini-Marathon half two weeks from today on Aug. 16, and Allie starts school a month from today on Sept. 2!

I am a little nervous about the half marathon. I’ve been running faster and farther and I feel like I’m in the best shape I’ve been since having Peyton. But I still fight frustration of being slower than I like. And I’m uncertain about the weather. This really hasn’t been a hot summer but I wouldn’t be surprised to have a hot or at least humid race day. That will just make me slower. But I’m so excited about the half marathon too. I haven’t been doing races much lately and my last few have been by myself because they’ve been races that were too hard to coordinate for Doug to take the kids. Well, we’re coordinating having the family there for my first half marathon in almost two years! I want to do this for my kids. And they don’t care how slow I am. They will be proud of me no matter what.

I had a dream last night that it was the day of the race and I thought the race was starting at 1 p.m. We were somewhere else and I didn’t have any of my running stuff and I realized it was 12:48 and I had to rush how and get my shoes and clothes. I thought I could still run if I was only five minutes or so late, but it took so long for me to get my shoes (the hang up has always been my shoes… this isn’t the first time I’ve dreamed about this subject!) that I finally just said forget about it and didn’t do it. I even thought in the dream, “isn’t this a dream?” and told myself now. I was so glad when I finally snapped out of it to find it was just a dream!

I guess I need to start laying out my race day things now? Its funny I’m subconsciously worried about this because I ran the 5K of this race in 2010 and we were on our way when I realized I’d left my bib number at home. We had to rush home to get it and I just barely made it to the start line before the gun. That race didn’t go well for obvious reasons.

My last long run tomorrow is 13 miles! I think I’ll drive to a different loop than my neighborhood, probably the arboretum. There are too many hills in my neighborhood. I’ll run a normal week without a long run next week. Then for race week I’ll cut back more before race day to conserve my energy. I am ready and I am excited.

I don’t know that I am ready for Allie to start school though! We’ve been waiting for more information. I think there are more forms to fill out and we need to get specifics on scheduling and the bus. I think we’ll be calling the district this week to find out. Since we’re open enrolled I just want to make sure we don’t miss anything! Allie is excited to start school, especially since we told her she would get new clothes for school.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

