Life as we know it

Our family adventures

One week to race day

Leave a comment

I’m ready! I wasn’t so sure after my runs this week. I ended up skipping an extra day after last Sunday’s 13. My two other runs during the week were hard. My legs felt dead. I was trying to decide how to do my last few runs before race day.

But this morning my legs felt good! I ran 8 miles and did have to stop a few times but only on the big hills. My overall pace was good. I’m trying to keep my walk breaks short to keep my miles a bit faster. I don’t know how long I can keep it up in the race but I will try!

The race day forecast sounds perfect. Very small chance of rain, low of 59 and high of 79. Assuming it doesn’t warm up too fast, I think it will be great.
Doug and I are planning for his and the kids spectating. As much as I love to have my family at the start, its going to be crowded and its tough to navigate traffic and parking at the Memorial Union. So I think they will drop me off at the start and then head down to mile 1 or 2 to see me run by. Hopefully they can see me a few times on the course and at the finish. Though the finish is the same place as the start so we don’t know if that will happen. Anything will be great as long as my family is there cheering for me!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

