Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I do, but I don’t

Leave a comment

I will admit this here: I wish I had trained for the Madison Half Marathon that is this weekend. This was going to be my second half marathon for the year. This would have met the second of my two running goals. But after the half marathon in August, I was ready for a break. I was frustrated with my slowness and I was burned out. I guess that’s what happens when you only run for a year and a half.

I have been enjoying running lower mileage and going to body pump once a week. I am getting stronger. I might even replace another running day with other cross training over the winter. The cross training really does help running! I am enjoying not getting up before the sun on the weekend to run for three hours.

But I am running at my best right now since I started running again after having Peyton. I was frustrated in August by my lack of improvement and how quickly I wore out during the race. But now I’m a little disappointed because I know I could have run a half marathon this weekend way better than I did in August. I even started considering a couple weeks ago about whether I could do a couple long runs and then register. I didn’t, of course, but I thought about it.

So… I wish I had trained for it, but I also don’t wish I had trained for it. The weather forecast for Sunday certainly helps me to not be too upset!

I think my ideal race calendar is to run half marathons in May and in September or October. I need my big races to be spaced out more than they would have been this year in August and November. And November is just too late because of the weather, which strikes me as funny because they moved this race to November because May can be too hot. But I’d rather run a race too hot (within reason of course) than too cold. I hate being too cold and in fact, probably don’t have too many outdoor runs left in me before I head to the treadmill… but that’s a topic for another post.

Its a shame too because I really like that course (the two Madison halves are different courses and I like the November one better). Next year my goal for spring is to run Green Bay. I’m even thinking about registering super early to get in cheap and so that I can’t wimp out. For the fall I’m thinking either Fox Cities or Haunted Hustle in Middleton. Or maybe Madison in November.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

