Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment

I am thankful year round. I don’t do the thankful November posts on Facebook. But I decided I’d do it here. Sometimes its hard to remember that even when times are tough, there is so much good. So in no particular order:

1. I’m thankful first and foremost for my wonderful family. I can’t imagine life without them.
2. I am thankful that we are all healthy. I know a few people who are just going through some really tough times health-wise. We are so lucky.
3. I’m thankful that Doug and I are both employed. It was a year ago this time that Doug was starting work again. I really hope we keep our jobs forever.
4. I’m thankful for a job I enjoy. Its stimulating and different every day and for the first time probably since I worked at The Southern Illinoisan, I have friends at work. I’m happy where I am.
5. I’m thankful Allie is loving school. I wonder how long that will last?
6. I’m thankful Peyton is mostly feeding himself (I say mostly because some items we still have to feed him or else he stuffs too much in his mouth at once). I will be even more thankful when we get past the “every meal is a fight” stage.
7. I’m thankful we get so many hand-me-downs for the kids. They wouldn’t be so well dressed without them!
8. I’m thankful for our home.
9. I am thankful for coffee and wine and hot chocolate.
10. I am thankful for my two beautiful kids.
11. I am thankful for our furnace and blankets and heated seats in the car. I hate being cold, so these are very helpful.
12. I am thankful for running.
13. I am thankful for Peyton’s super cute haircut!
14. I’m thankful for extended family and the fun times we have and nieces and nephews.
15. I’m thankful that Peyton still takes naps.
16. I’m thankful for good books.
17. I’m thankful for our great friend and daycare provider Bridget and her girls.
18. I’m thankful for great food.

OK… so I was trying to come up with 28 things for the 28 days in November… but now I’m reminded why I don’t do the thankful November posts. Suffice it to say… I have many reasons to be thankful! I need to remind myself of that in times where I’m unhappy with events going on. For example, right now. I went for a run outside this afternoon because I couldn’t get out until the gym was closed. Well, some sidewalks are clear, some aren’t, and even though I was watching my steps, I still managed to roll my ankle and sprain it pretty bad. I’m disappointed because I was going to reach my 600 miles for the year before the end of November, but that’s not happening now! But I do realize it could be worse. And in spite of my disappointment, we still have a great family time coming up tonight and this weekend!

I hope everyone out there is having a happy Thanksgiving!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

