Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Ending March on a high mileage note

Leave a comment

I ended the March with 5 gorgeous miles outside on Monday morning. I’ve been waiting eagerly for the weather to improve enough for me to get outside again. We are moving in a week. I know I will enjoy running in a new area, but I’ve been running my current neighborhood for eight years. I run random routes and I have my tried and true routes. And I really love running as the sun is coming up. I won’t be running at sunrise in the new neighborhood until I’m more familiar with my surroundings… for one thing, there aren’t street lights over there. I don’t get sentimental about a lot, though I am finding I’m more sentimental than I expect as the move is getting closer. And running that neighborhood is one of those sentimental things.

The 5 miles I ran on Monday and the 5 miles I ran Sunday afternoon on the treadmill were my longest runs since last fall. I overdid it by running so much so close together. My legs are still achy today… that probably also has to do with needing new shoes.

I am so happy to have gone a full month without getting sick! That meant a full month of running! Of course other things, like laziness, happen… but surprisingly not often. In fact, I really did not want to run on Sunday afternoon, but I knew those kinds of workouts often are the best and that was the case for that particular run.

I ran on my own terms in March and that makes me happy.

Total mileage was 51.6, which beats last November’s 50.5. I’ve also surpassed 100 for the year, 102.1, to be exact.

The month included a last-minute entry and then a very surprising result for the Shamrock Shuffle 5K. I don’t have any more immediate for sure race plans, but I hope to capitalize on my recent progress. I decided I probably won’t run Crazylegs at the end of this month. That race is fun, but its just hard with logistics. And its been nice for that race the last few years so I’d bet it will rain this year. I don’t know if I’ll run the Madison Twilight 10K Memorial Day weekend. This is the Madison half, which I always aim for but haven’t gotten to the last few years. I’d like to run the 10K though because I bet I can improve on last year’s time. I have tentative plans for a 5K at the end of June. Racing is just up in the air right now with all the other things going on.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

