Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Trying my hand at gardening

Leave a comment

I finally got my garden planted this week! It took about a week and a half to get from weeds to planted, and I am so excited to see how it goes!

Here is the before picture, when weeds still dominated.
image
I got two tomato plants, one cucumber, one cilantro and one basil. Bottom right plant is Allie’s sunflower that she planted at the school scavenger hunt a couple weeks ago. I put those in the garden too!
018
This is after the weeding.
020
And my helper… for a little while anyway. She wasn’t too interested after I started digging, except to tell me where she wanted me to put the plants.
021
Dada took some action shots.
022
026
027
028
I really have enjoyed putting the work into this project so far!
032
AboveĀ is the finished side with plants. I did the plants last Sunday. Then I did the sunflowers and seeds on Tuesday. Below is the complete garden, but you can’t tell because the seeds are buried and the sunflowers are so small!
image
The seeds I planted were green beans, carrots, kale and squash. I had gotten watermelon seeds, but realized they need a lot of space so I didn’t plant those. I may try to clear out another spot in the ground somewhere to plant those. I have read that they are very easy to grow!

I am not too sure how its doing so far. All the plants have yellow leaves. Maybe from transplanting? I have been watering daily, so hopefully they will perk up. The leaves have some holes too, not sure if there are bugs? I had an idea for a fence that didn’t work, so we don’t have a fence yet. But a fence won’t keep bugs away, so hopefully that isn’t anything. I hope no critters disrupt my plants. The one plant I can tell is doing well are the sunflowers. Those have gotten bigger since I put them in the ground. I remember planting sunflowers as a kid and I never saw one to huge sunflower stage, so I hope these grow big!
image
The seed packets all say there should be sprouts within 7 to 10 days, so hopefully by next weekend. Weeds come up so fast though, I am not sure if I should weed until I know I have plants coming up. I don’t want to accidentally pull a plant!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

