Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Lets talk about running again, shall we?

Leave a comment

I’ve had plenty of stuff to write about, but life has gotten in the way the past few days.

In the midst of chaos, I’ve been running. I don’t get stressed out too often anymore, but when I was there this week, running help. Monday night I had a very surprising hill run. I needed to clear my head and that task was accomplished.

Last week I had planned 9 miles for Sunday. I wasn’t sure I’d make it that far as I indulged in some strong wine on Saturday night. Well, I surprised myself by not only covering the 9, but going for 10!

Then this morning was the bad run. I should have expected it, given how well I’ve been running lately! This week is a cutback week because we are traveling this weekend and even if I have time to run, it won’t be enough for a long run. So this morning I wanted to do a longer mid-week run. I set out about 5:15 for 6 miles. I was a tough first mile, like the first mile always is for me. Then the next few miles I kept feeling kind of sluggish, even though I was maintaining about 11:40 pace. I was trying to keep slower anyway since I’ve been so speedy lately. I’m familiar enough with my neighborhood and different distances that I chould have shortened the run. I considered that but thought I could push through it. Well, I did… except that my legs felt like lead in the last mile and felt even more like lead in the last half mile!

I got pretty hungry during the run. I think perhaps I just didn’t have enough gas in the tank even though I ate my normal breakfast. Not enough gas and just tired, as I got to work and had to keep myself from falling asleep at my desk. I think its just stress and stuff catching up with me. Besides, you can’t run great all the time! So I’m not upset, but I am going to cut back even more than I originally planned the rest of the week. I’m thinking like two 3-milers or even less the rest of the week.

This will be a nice break before half marathon training, if only I could figure out my goal and approach for the training this time around!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a comment